Unforgiven (1992)


Rating:

It was about time I got around to this movie. I guess the reason it took so long is I’m generally not that big a fan of Western’s in general. But, with the recent re-make of True Grit (which I actually have yet to see), I was in the mood to see a movie that has been deemed one of the best Western’s in recent history. Sure enough, I thought it lived up pretty well to its hype.

Not just another tough guy movie where the cowboy appears and guns down everyone in his path, Eastwood’s character has a worthy purpose, and hunts down those that deserve what they get. Along the way, we get to discover what each character is truly made of as well. Though the movie really takes its time laying out the entire situation with Clint and Morgan being washed up old men, it is quite interesting to see how they evolve before our eyes. As it draws toward the end, the feel of the movie reminds me a bit of Man on Fire, with the reformed ex-killer finding purpose for his killing again.

Two hours with quite a slow start and build-up but well worth it in the end. A good movie that I’d be happy to watch again in the future, just not the immediate future. As a side note, although I have not see the new True Grit, I do like the original True Grit starring John Wayne.

Leave a Reply

