Midnight in Paris (2011)


Rating:

Woody Allen has a new film and it was well rated so I thought I’d give it a shot.  It’d been a while since I’ve seen a movie in the theaters by myself and maybe it was time again.  I didn’t actually know what to expect since all that I knew was that it got a 92% on Rotten Tomatoes.  I’m not sure what it was, perhaps good writing, but I felt a close association with the main character Gil.  I had forgotten that I am romantic at heart as well, and maybe this is the reason that I seemingly spend more time in a illusory world in my head than in the reality before me.

Just as Gil needed a departure from his reality to realize that he lives within the Golden Age himself, I too needed this movie as a departure from my reality to bring me back down to Earth.  Getting swept away by one’s dreams is a wondrous feeling, but it makes life difficult when harsh reality hits and you realize nothing is as ideal as you had fantasized.  You will continue to forever grasp at the dream until you realize both it and your life have escaped beyond your reach.

In my opinion, this shouldn’t be that highly rated a movie, but it could just be that I am merely not educated enough to enjoy such a higher pleasure.  But it is a pleasant break from a hectic life.  Probably not truly deserving of a $13.00 movie ticket, but definitely deserving of 100 minutes of your attention, this movie  is somewhat slow but whimsical and idealistic in its nature as well.  Perhaps we all need to stop for a moment and reflect upon our own lives; stop denying the truths that are apparent before us, and move forward.  This was like the movie Somewhere in Time, except much more comedic and with a much happier ending.  The repeated star cameos were exciting to see too.  I wonder what ultimately happened to the private detective…

Leave a Reply

