Source Code (2011)

Rating:

So after everyone said such good things about this movie, including a 91% from Rotten Tomatoes, I thought I had to give this movie a shot.  When I originally saw previews for this movie, this instantly made me think that the movie was merely just an action-packed Groundhog Day.  After watching it, I don’t really that this prior assessment was too far from the truth.

It was a fun and exciting movie to watch, but in my opinion it presented too many glaring loopholes with problems within the whole scope of timelines, alternate realities, etc.  I am usually not one to nitpick at these details (I enjoyed Inception and The Matrix very much) but when the problems of coherence are too obvious, I begin to have objections.  This movie had some big problems at times.  There are numerous loopholes and flaws that I felt were too obvious.  Many are typical timeline/reality issues that need not be elaborated again, suffice it to say that these parts made me gasp to myself “Really?” a number of times.  In the end, I was glad I didn’t spend money to see this movie in the theaters, but I’m also glad that I did watch it.  It’s an interesting concept they present, and I imagine seeing a much better movie with the same “core” principles as this movie in the future.

Leave a Reply

